Governors work together to provide an independent oversight, with the aim of improving the quality of the education provided at Benhall St. Mary's, raising standards and making decisions in the best interests of the School's pupils, staff and wider community.  Governors help shape the aims and aspirations of the school, bringing a wider range of perspectives to all issues.


There are a number of key aspects to the work of the Board of Governors. They set policies, establish the School development plan, ensure that public funds are spent appropriately and effectively, ensure statutory duties are complied with and provide rigorous accountability.


All Governors are volunteers who meet as a Board of Governors at least three times a year. 

The Chair of the Board of Governors is Dr Roland Edwards.  Should you need to contact Dr Edwards directly, he can be reached by emailing:


Previous Governors

Mr Robert Stewart (LA Governor)

Appointed: 03 Oct 2018

Resigned: 02 Oct 2022

Revd Rachel Cornish (Ex-officio Foundation Governor)

Appointed: 13 July 2017

Resigned: 10 Mar 2022

Mrs Lara Childs (Staff Governor)

Appointed: 01 Nov 2020

Resigned: 27 Feb 2022

Oliver Kemsley (Co-opted Governor)

Appointed: 21 Oct 2020

Resigned: 27 Feb 2022

Ms Catherine Pinnekamp (Parent Governor)

Appointed: 01 Sept 2019

Resigned: 17 Dec 2021

Further information about our previous governing body can be found by following the link below:

Benhall St Mary's Primary School Governors and Pecuniary Interests