Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education experiences to all children.

At the end of The Early Years Foundation Stage, the children are assessed using The Early Years Foundation Stage Profile. ​Assessment plays an important part in helping parents, carers and practitioners to recognise children’s progress, understand their needs, and to plan activities and support.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (EYFSP) summarises and describes children’s attainment at the end of the Foundation Stage that is, at the end of the reception year. It is a legal requirement that all schools assess children at this point, and report to parents how their children are doing. Assessment is across all of the areas of learning and development, and describes the child’s characteristics of effective learning. There are 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs), across the seven areas of learning and development. Children are judged to be either at an ‘emerging’, ‘expected’ or ‘exceeding’ level of development in relation to the Early Learning Goals..

Benhall St. Mary's CofE Primary School
School Lane, Benhall, Saxmundham, Suffolk IP17 1HE

Headteacher: Mrs Julia Bowles

Email: admin@benhallschool.co.uk • Tel: 01728 602407